The ULN will host the 26th annual African American Leadership Awards

AALA 2015 LogoThe 26th annual African American Leadership Awards (AALA) will be held on Friday, June 5, 2015 at the Hilton Omaha. A cocktail reception will be held starting at 6 p.m. with the award ceremony beginning at 7 p.m.

The AALA was created for the future, while reflecting upon the past. The awards presented at the event acknowledge the leaders in our community who serve and have made significant contributions to the city of Omaha.

This year’s award recipients include Jacqueline White, Business; Vicki Quaites-Ferris, Community; Dr. Cynthia K. Gooch, Education; Rev. Portia A. Cavitt, Faith; Retd. Chief William H. Johnson, Government; Sherri Nared-Brooks, Health; Wesley R. Dacus, Young Professional; and Dr. Marguerita Washington, Someone Special.

Nominations were open to the public during the months of February and March. Nominators were able to choose community members they would like to recognize for accomplishments and achievements in one of nine possible categories including Business, Community, Education, Faith, Government, Health, Young Professional (ages 21 to 39), Youth (ages 16 to 18), and Someone Special.

Tickets for the ceremony are available for purchase; costing $50.  Those who wish to attend also have the option of becoming patron by donating $1000 or more, or purchasing a table in their name. To do so, please visit

Last year’s recipients were Othello Meadows, Business; Tim Clark, Community;  Dr. Minnie R. Dacus, Education; Bishop Robert D. Tyler, Faith; Senator Tanya D. Cook, Government; Ira D. Combs,  Health; Cydney S. Franklin, Young Professional; and Ashley L. Swift, Youth.

If you have any questions about the African American Leadership Awards, please contact Michael Cich-Jones, Director of Development and Marketing, 405-323-9523.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.