African-American Leadership Awards

Each year, the African-American Leadership Awards recognize the accomplishments and achievements of African Americans in our community who have made significant contributions to the City of Omaha in the following categories: Business, Community, Education, Faith, Government, Health, Young Professional (ages 21 to 39) and Youth (ages 16 to 18). The awards are presented by the Urban League of Nebraska Guild. | Learn more about the ULN Guild.

Visit the African-American Leadership Hall of Fame to view past recipients.

African-American Leadership Awards Gala

30th Annual African-American Leadership Awards Gala

May 31st, 2019

6 p.m. Reception

7 p.m. Dinner & Awards Ceremony

The 2019 AALA Winners


Winsley Durand III


Dr. Viv Ewing


Wesley Dacus

Barry Thomas


Pastor Terry Arvie


Judge Derek Vaughn


Dr. Marvin Stancil

Young Professional

I Be Black Girl


Sanjaya Bolton

Someone Special

Dr. Danita Webb

Visit the African-American Leadership Hall of Fame to view past recipients.

Join the Celebration!

The Urban League of Nebraska Guild organizes the African-American Leadership Awards with the generous support of community members, businesses and organizations. Your support allows us the opportunity to recognize today’s African-American leaders and inspire the leaders of tomorrow. You can support AALA the following ways:

  • Become a Patron.
  • Make a donation.
  • Purchase tickets or a table.


For more information about AALA, please contact the Urban League of Nebraska Guild.

Fill out my online form.