Youth Attendance Navigators

Youth Attendance Navigators reengage middle and high school students who have a track record of chronic or excessive absenteeism.  The Urban League of Nebraska knows that students with poor attendance are often poor academic performers and/or are behind academically.  Youth Attendance Navigator help students address any barriers that my be causing absenteeism.

Who should participate?

The Youth Attendance Navigator program is open to youth ages 12 to 18 who have a record of poor attendance (missing 10 or more days of school) and have been (or should have been) reported for truancy to the Douglas County attorney for missing 20 or more days of school. The program is a court-recognized diversion program that offers students a chance to stay out of court if they stay in school.

The YAN program is offered to students in the following middle and high schools:

  • Benson High Magnet School
  • King Science & Technology Magnet School
  • McMillan Magnet Center
  • Monroe Middle School
  • Nathan Hale Middle School
  • North High Magnet School
  • Northwest High Magnet School

How do you join the program?

Click here to download the 2016-2017 application for the Youth Attendance Navigators program.

Questions?

For more information about the program, please contact Marcha Madison-Clark, YAN Coordinator, at 402-707-6153 or marcha.madison-clark@UrbanLeagueNeb.org.

Zachary Bowman

Youth Attendance Navigator Coordinator

Contact

Phone: 402-707-4725

Email: Zackary.Bowman@urbanleagueneb.org

Dante Bogard

Youth Attendance Navigator

Contact

Phone: 402-316-8007

Email: dante.bogard@urbanleagueneb.org

Donald Jones

Youth Attendance Navigator

Mailing Address

Benson Elementary School
6652 Maple Street
Omaha, NE 68104-3995

Contact

Phone: (402) 312-0052

Email: donald.jones@urbanleagueneb.org

June Martinez

Youth Attendance Navigator

McMillan Magnet Center

Contact

Phone: 402-880-7497

Email: june.martinez@urbanleagueneb.org

Eric Williams

Youth Attendance Navigator

Nathan Hale Magnet Middle School

Contact

Phone: 402-403-7220

Email: eric.williams@urbanleagueneb.org